A Tragedy Within Another – a personal experience

I have always loved writing, except exams of course.

And so when the English dept. of my college went on to host a creative writing competition I gave my name naturally. I chose fiction as poetry is an unexplored region in my world. I thought about various stories, imagined worlds… And I finally settled on one. I was too excited about it and so went into action immediately.

You can find that work above, under the name Black is warmer than blue.

I edited and re-edited it until I was totally satisfied. I didn’t expect anything and didn’t write for the sake of winning. It was just my pure passion getting a new opportunity. I was in Trichy for the holidays and was returning home when I received a text from my friend Malavikha saying I had won the second prize, two thousand rupees, the first amount I earned without meaning to.  And like the tragic ending in my story, my reality also ended in a tragedy. I wasn’t there to climb the stage and collect my prize. I lost my first recognition and the pride of getting my first prize.

Leave a Reply

